The Value Of Life

This last week taught me a how quickly a life could be taken away, as well on how much you should value everything you have.

Last week I took my mother to the ER due to stomach pains she had. From the time it took me to get into the car to the ER it didn’t really hit me what was fully going on. But the moment she sat in the hospital bed being injected by all sorts of different medicine, It was right there it hit me what exactly was going on, and how severe this could be for everyone in my family. They had informed me that she had a infection in her stomach and it needed to be removed as soon as possible with an emergency surgery.

The feeling I had was something I hope to never feel again in a long time. All of the emotions in my mind felt like a giant wreck; I didn’t know what to do next. all I knew was that I was going to be there for my mother and hope she comes out all right. I didn’t want to leave her sight; even going use the restroom felt wrong leaving my mother for a second, it didn’t sit right with me. I couldn’t bring myself to leave her because my whole life even till now, she has looked after me. So I felt it was only right I muscled through and be strong for her

I was in a room with her for hours, but the moment I decided to get out and catch some fresh air they took her and began to prep for surgery.  I never felt so ashamed just the fact that I wasn’t there to be with her when she was taken into surgery. I wanted her to see a familiar face before she left. I didn’t want to lose her just like how I lost my father and grandfather

As I waited for her to return back into her room, I had time to think about life. So I started to ponder and I realized how quickly something you love so much could be taken away from you, just like that in a heartbeat. Everything you have in life should be cherished no matter what because you never know how or when it will be taken away from you.

 

The value of life is something that isn’t easy to grasp but you begin to get a handle on it once you’re put in a difficult situation. It’s a situation people shouldn’t have to face but when you do, you emerge a better person with more of an understanding of things.

And then I had that moment of peace, I had finally seen her fresh out of surgery. I couldn’t hold in tears not only for joy but because of how it reminded me of my father and grandfather. It was a pain I didn’t want to have. But after I got over that hump I spoke to her and told her how much I loved her. Throughout that whole experience, i had realized that she’s not going to be here forever, and that I should never take her for granted. She did raise me and love/support me with everything I did in life. Even though she knows I’d do anything for her, I know I should always make her feel loved and appreciated.  Â

Author: imluisgutierrez

Just trying to inform you

Leave a Reply

